Manitoba Crop Alliance committee nominees announced

Some have been acclaimed, others will face election

The Manitoba Crop Alliance is one step closer to filling its slate of committee members.

Nominations opened Sept. 1 and closed Oct. 30.

Corn committee:

Five farmers were nominated for four positions, and an election will be held to determine who takes the seats. Nominees are Carl Bangert (Beausejour), David Boerchers (Laurier), Dean Toews (MacGregor), Emile Morin (Otterburne), and Hubert Preun (St. Andrews). Farmer members in good standing with MCA’s corn group will be eligible to vote.

Related Articles

Flax committee:

Four nominees have filled these seats by acclimation. The new members are Dean Buchanan (Crystal City), Jack Hodgson (Roland), Lance Bierens (Winnipeg), and Lorne Johnson (Arborg). They join Andrew Harris (Winnipeg), Eric Fridfinnson (Arborg), Garry Froese (Winkler), and Nick Matheson (Stonewall) to fill the committee.

Sunflower committee:

Edgar Scheurer (Dugald), Korey Peters (Randolph), Myles Kubinec (Holland), and Sally Parsonage (Baldur) were nominated for the four available crop committee delegate positions and are thereby elected by acclamation. They will join Gilbert Sabourin (St. Jean Baptiste), Gregg Fotheringham (Reston), Mark McDonald (Virden), and Roger Vaags (Dugald) to form MCA’s Sunflower committee.

Wheat and barley committee:

Boris Michaleski (Ashville), Fred Greig (Reston), Josee Saquet (Laurier), Rauri Qually (Dacatoh), and Sheila Elder (Wawanesa) were nominated for the five available crop committee delegate positions and are thereby elected by acclamation. They will join Doug Martin (East Selkirk), Drew Baker (Beausejour), Robert Misko (Roblin), Ryan Hueging (Woodlands), and Wilfred Harder (Lowe Farm) to form MCA’s Wheat and Barley committee.

Avenue 4 Communications will be the returning officer for the Corn Committee delegate elections. The election will be conducted by mail-in ballot. Ballots will be mailed to eligible corn group members mid-November with voting closing on December 15, 2020.

The acclaimed and elected delegates will be installed at the first Crop Committee meetings to be held in January 2021. At the meeting, the four crop committees will make their director appointments to the Manitoba Crop Alliance board. The MCA board will be announced prior to the annual general meeting, being held virtually on February 11, 2021.

About the author



Stories from our other publications