Crocus photo contest winners named

Amateur photographers from across the province once again put their best photo forward

Adult and youth competitors have once again flooded the village of Arden with crocus photographs.

The 2017 Wild Prairie Crocus photo contest attracted more than 100 photos, and 13 photographers from eight different towns and cities throughout the province captured prizes totalling $600.

The tiny village, 160 km northwest of Winnipeg, is home to about 150 people and is the self-proclaimed Crocus Capital of Manitoba. It has hosted the photo contest for eight years. It encourages entries from youth and adults anywhere in the province.

To be eligible, the photos can only be taken during about two weeks in April. The crocus normally emerges around April 1, with colourful blooms at mid-April. It is the first Prairie wildflower to bloom each spring.

All of the photo entries are printed and posted for public viewing and voting one day only, at Arden’s annual crocus festival, on the first Saturday in May.

Erica Alex, a student from Minnedosa, garnered the most People’s Choice votes in the youth category.
photo: Erica Alex

The most popular two photos are selected by visitors at the event for the People’s Choice Award, sponsored by the Manitoba Co-operator.

This year’s People’s Choice Award winners are Dennis Wiens, a retiree and keen amateur photographer from Portage la Prairie who captured the adult category, and Erica Alex, a student from Minnedosa who got the nod in the youth category.

Prizes also are awarded in four classes for youth and adults.

2017 crocus photo contest winners


Single flower

  • First: Stan Enns, Winnipeg
  • Second: Linda Sigurdson, Portage la Prairie

Crocus cluster

  • First: Alex Vasylieva, Hilbre
  • Second: Jean Orton, Portage la Prairie

Crocus habitat

  • First: Donna Gamache, MacGregor
  • Second: Linda Sigurdson, Portage la Prairie

Creative crocus

  • First: Dennis Wiens, Portage la Prairie
  • Second: Gail Marchessault, Winnipeg


Single flower

  • First: Lisa Maendel, Carberry
  • Second: Sam Koncz, Plumas

Crocus cluster

  • First: Erica Alex, Minnedosa
  • Second: Lisa Maendel, Carberry

Crocus habitat

  • First: Kyle Hutton, Neepawa
  • Second: Darby Wilson, Arden

Creative crocus

  • First: Bailey Mitchler, Arden
  • Second: Kyle Hutton, Neepawa

About the author



Stories from our other publications