Cereals Canada’s executive committee unchanged

Membership grows to 21 cereals organizations

Cereals Canada’s executive committee unchanged

Cereals Canada’s executive committee is unchanged following its first annual meeting June 24 since amalgamating with the Canadian International Grains Institute (Cigi) June 1, 2020.

Farmer Todd Hames of the Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) chair, Cargill’s Jennifer Marchand vice-chair, farmer Robert Misko of the Manitoba Crop Alliance (MCA) treasurer and Richardson’s Jean-Marc Ruest secretary.

“I am honoured and appreciative of the board’s support to serve as chair for a second year,” Hames said in a news release. “Cereals Canada’s ability to adapt and pivot to the changing global needs showcases the organization’s ability to be responsive and effective.”

Cereals Canada, a Winnipeg-based umbrella association, represents Canada’s cereals value chain with a focus on Canadian cereal sales.

Members include farmer-funded cereals groups, seed and chemical companies, grain companies and cereal processors.

The Canadian National Millers Association, which has represented Canadian cereal millers for more than 100 years, is Cereals Canada’s newest member bringing total membership to 21. (See list below)

Two new directors joined Cereals Canada’s 16-member board. Greg Sears (AWC) and Gregg Fotheringham (MCA) replaced outgoing directors Hannah Konschuch (AWC) and Drew Baker (MCA).

Half of Cereals Canada’s board consists of farmers and the other half are from industry.

The board’s governance committee members are Jake Leguee, Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission (SWDC), Henry Van Ankum, Grain Farmers of Ontario, Richard Wansbutter, Viterra and Adam Dyck, Warburtons.

The Finance and Audit Committee members are Greg Sears from AWC, Glenn Tait with SWDC, Trish Jordan of Bayer and Darren Amerongen of Parrish & Heimbecker.

Cereals Canada members

  • Alberta Wheat Commission
  • Atlantic Grains Council
  • BASF Canada
  • Bayer Inc.
  • BC Grain Producers Association
  • Bimbo Canada
  • Cargill
  • Corteva Agriscience
  • G3 Canada Limited
  • Canadian National Millers Association
  • Producteurs de Grains du Quebec
  • Grain Farmers of Ontario
  • Manitoba Crop Alliance
  • North West Terminal Ltd.
  • Parrish and Heimbecker
  • Richardson International
  • Saskatchewan WheatDevelopment Commission
  • Syngenta Canada
  • Viterra Inc.
  • Warburtons
  • Saskatchewan Winter Cereals Development Commission

About the author



Stories from our other publications