Greig and Misko reprise board roles at Manitoba Crop Alliance

East Selkirk’s Doug Martin joins the ranks as board secretary

Two key board officers are returning for another term at the Manitoba Crop Alliance.

Fred Greig. photo: Allan Dawson

Fred Greig of Reston was re-elected as chair and Robert Misko of Roblin was re-elected as co-chair. Doug Martin of East Selkirk was elected as board secretary.

“I’m honoured to be re-elected as chair and look forward to another year working alongside the MCA board of directors to represent the best interests and productivity of spring and winter wheat, barley, corn, sunflower and flax farmers in Manitoba,” Greig said in a prepared release. “It’s important to me to give back to the farming community as others have done before me.”

Greig farms 5,300 acres and operates a 100-beef cow operation with his family. His board experience includes serving on the Manitoba Pulse and Soybean Growers, founding director for CANTERRA SEEDS, director with Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association (MWBGA), and current director with MCA as well as director for Sunrise Credit Union.

“I look forward to serving another year on the MCA board of directors representing the farmer voice,” Misko said in the same release.

Misko farms 6,200 acres with his family and parents near Roblin. His experience includes reeve for the Rural Municipality (RM) of Hillsburg, Association of Manitoba Municipalities director for the Parkland Region, delegate for Manitoba Pool and Agricore, director with MWBGA, director for Cereals Canada and director and research representative for Western Grains Research Foundation. He is currently head of council for the RM of Roblin and sits on the Parkland Crop Diversification Foundation Board.

Martin farms 3,000 acres near East Selkirk and operates a 1,200-swine farrow-wean stock operation. He is a delegate on the wheat and barley committee of MCA and prior to the formation of MCA he was the chair of Winter Cereals Manitoba. He is district adviser for Manitoba Pork Council and sits on the KAP advisory council for his district.

About the author



Stories from our other publications