Your Reading List

Pork Industry Awards

Manitoba Pork Council (MPC) has announced the winners of its 2009 Pork Industry Awards recognizing excellence in Manitoba’s hog industry. The awards are presented to individuals, groups and organizations that have made significant contributions to the industry.

Karin Wittenberg, of the University of Manitoba faculty of agricultural and food sciences, received the council’s Education award in recognition of her tireless efforts to make research accessible and meaningful for all.

Farm Credit Canada received the Friend of the Industry award in recognition of 50 years of financial support of Manitoba’s hog farmers and investment in their communities.

David Rourke, owner of Hog Hill Farms in Minto, received the Innovation award in recognition of his efforts pioneering a strong integrated farming model and developing new varieties of feed wheat for the benefit of all producers.

“When producers across Manitoba are facing difficult times, it’s important to keep in mind that good things are still happening,” says Karl Kynoch, MPC chairman. “The folks we celebrate with these awards are making very important contributions to our industry.”

MPC represents the province’s 900 hog producers.



Stories from our other publications