Your Reading List

Top Potato Growers Named

Fiskel Farms was named the 2009 McCain Champion Potato Grower for the McCain Carberry plant during the annual growers’ banquet Oct. 22.

Potatoes are rated throughout the year on a variety of factors including size, gravity, defect level and colour and awarded points accordingly. At the end of each crop year, the top 10 growers are determined based on their overall scores.

Fred Schaeffer, president and CEO of McCain Foods (Canada) was on hand to extend personal congratulations to Fiskel Farms and all of the Mc-Cain growers.

In his address to the group, Schaeffer noted the importance of their achievements and his optimism for the coming year.

“All of you play a critical role in our business and tonight’s primary purpose is to recognize and thank you for all of your efforts over the past year. It is our great people, great products and great growers like you gathered here tonight that underpin my optimism.”

Fiskel Farms of Brookdale are one of the original growers with McCain and have been in the Top 10 category three times. In addition to being awarded a trophy and a cheque for $1,000, Fiskel Farms will also receive an all-expense-paid trip for two to the Bahamas for their achievement.

The other growers who qualified for the top 10 roster, in order of final standing, were: Wilbro Farms Ltd. (Don and Barb Williams, Lauder), R. E. D. Baron Farms (Earl and Faye Baron, Dave and Mary Baron, Randy and Kim Baron of Carberry, Harte and Gregg), T and M Olmstead Farms (Trent and Candis Olmstead, Myles and Karen Olmstead, Gregg), Acadia Colony Farms Ltd. (represented by John Hofer Sr., John Hofer Jr., Arnold Hofer, Ike Hofer, Leonard Hofer, Carberry), Mid-Man Farms Ltd. (Don and Muriel McIntosh, Brock and Donna McIntosh, Harte), Sprucewoods Colony Ltd. (represented by Clarence Waldner, Joey Waldner, Elie Waldner, Brookdale), C and T Reynolds Farms (Conway and Betty Reynolds, Troy and Angie Reynolds, Carberry), Wright Spud Farms Inc. (Glenn and Alice Wright, Steven Wright and Jerilyn Popien, Wellwood) and Cypress River Potato Growers (Don and Audrey Daymond, Trevor and Wendy Daymond, Don Richmond, Cypress River).

Each received a plaque and a $1,000 cheque for their accomplishment.

About the author

Richard Holyoak's recent articles



Stories from our other publications