Your Reading List

Who is the Grain Growers of Canada?

The Grain Growers of Canada was founded in 2000 to represent grain growers, through their respective associations, across Canada.

The initial members were the Alberta Barley Commission, Atlantic Grains Council, Alberta Winter Wheat Producers Commission, Ontario Corn Producers’ Association, Ontario Soybean Growers, Saskatchewan Canola Growers Association and Western

Canadian Wheat Growers Association.

Since then all three Ontario associations have dropped out and the Saskatchewan canola growers has been replaced by the Canadian Canola Growers Association.

Membership fees are based on the member-association’s revenue, ranging from $2,500 to $25,000 a year. The association also offers a $1,000 associate membership.

The current GGC members are : Albert a Barley Commission; Alberta Oat, Rye and Triticale Association; Alberta Pulse Growers; Alberta Winter Wheat Producers Commission; Atlantic Grains Council; British Columbia Grain Producers Association; Canadian Canola Growers Association; Manitoba Corn Growers Association; Western Barley Growers Association; Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association.

[email protected]

About the author


Allan Dawson

Allan Dawson is a reporter with the Manitoba Co-operator based near Miami, Man. Covering agriculture since 1980, Dawson has spent most of his career with the Co-operator except for several years with Farmers’ Independent Weekly and before that a Morden-Winkler area radio station.



Stories from our other publications