Your Reading List

Nine Named To Hall Of Fame

Farmers, rural advocates and builders from the public sector are among the nine new inductees to Manitoba’s Agricultural Hall of Fame.

This year’s inductees announced on April 9, are to be formally recognized at an induction ceremony July 16 for “outstanding contribution to the improvement of agriculture and the betterment of rural living in the province.”

The Co-operator will publish the new inductees’ biographies later this summer. They include:

Allan and Edythe Arnott of Darlingford, whose work for the benefit of other farmers has included promoting the introduction of canola in Manitoba, testing of hybrid wheats in the 1960s, involvement in extension service co-op programs and breeder seed trials for triticale, a pathogen-free hog herd and a U-pick raspberry business that supplied root-stock to North Dakota growers.

Mabel Britton of Killarney, who as a home economist taught basic homemaking skills to young women, and as food specialist with the Manitoba Extension Service developed adult learning programs; also, her skills and farm record-keeping programs became the base for home economics education in Manitoba.

Murray Cormack of Winnipeg, who started work as an agricultural representative in 1957 and rose to deputy minister of the provincial Agriculture Department during the 1960s, while maintaining his involvement in the Manitoba Institute of Agrologists, Biomass Energy Institute, Agricultural Institute of Canada andEconomic Development Winnipeg.

David Gislason of Arborg, the current chair of the Manitoba Farm Products Marketing Council, a founding member of the Manitoba Leafcutter Bee Association, Manitoba Forage Seed Association and seed marketer Northstar Seeds and formerly a member of SeCan’s forage committee and reeve of the R. M. of Bifrost, as well as a pioneer in the use of leafcutter bees for the pollination of their forage crops.

Peter Peters of Winnipeg, also known as “Potato Pete” from his days as the provincial Agriculture Department’s extension potato specialist, one of the early promoters of a commercial potato industry in Manitoba, a former president of the Western Canadian Society for Horticulture and a booster of the province’s strawberry experimental demonstration program at Hadashville, which led to the formation of the Strawberry Growers Association of Manitoba.

Bert Sandercock of St. Andrews, whose work as a provincial vegetable specialist and later as chief of the provincial Agriculture Department’s horticultural division led to the formation of the Manitoba Vegetable Commission, the relocation and expansion of the vegetable industry at Portage la Prairie, the establishment of a dill-oil industry at Morden and a silverskin onion plant at Portage.

Alex Stow of Winnipeg, who’s a former president of the Canadian Seed Growers’ Association, set up seedprocessing operations at Graysville, Elgin and Cardale, developed international markets for pedigreed seed oats and Selkirk wheat from his family’s farm at Graysville, and introduced irrigation, shelter belts and innovative machinery on his farm, where he also sponsored fertilizer trials.

Clint Whetter o f Boissevain, the first Manitoba inducted into the Canadian Conservation Hall of Fame, a member of the local and advisory committees for Manitoba Pool Elevators and a former chairman of the Turtle Mountain Conservation District, who carried his commitment to conservation into his farming practices with strip farming, shelter belts and the introduction of a conservation project for the local 4-H club.

About the author



Stories from our other publications