Your Reading List

McCain’s Portage Names Top Growers

AYR Farms Ltd. was named the 2009 McCain Champion Potato Grower for the McCain Portage la Prairie plant during the annual Growers’ Banquet held Oct. 21, 2009.

Ron Tidsbury, along with sons Keith and Grant, accepted the Champion Grower award on behalf of the Tidsbury family and AYR Farms. AYR Farms has been in the Top 10 category eight times since 1978. This is their first time winning the Champion Grower award.

In addition to being awarded a trophy and a cheque for $1,000, AYR Farms Ltd. will also receive an all-expense-paid trip for two to Bermuda for their achievement.

The other growers who qualified for the Top 10 roster, in order of final standing, were: Beaver Creek Farms Ltd. (Ed and Helen Wiebe, Don and Colleen Wiebe, Stan and Nita Wiebe of MacGregor), Anton Weibe Ltd. (Anton and Trudy Wiebe, Sheldon and Angela Falconer of MacGregor) , Northport Potato Growers (Tom and Nancy Robinson, Gerry and Barb Gillespie, Glen and Beth Adrain of Portage), W. J. Siemens Farming Co. & Spud Bros. (Bill and Mary-Anne Siemens, Paul and Kelly McDonald, Ray and Bev Friesen of Winkler), Rivertrail Potato Co. Ltd. (Pat and Dale Owen, Doug and Donna Bruce of Carman), Smith Potato Farms Ltd. (Kelvin and Joyce Smith, John and Sandra Goff of Carman), Kehler Farms Ltd. (Harvey and Donna Kehler, Jason Kehler and Laura Sawyer of Carman), Gem Meadows (Henry and Gertie Sawatzky of MacGregor), and J. P. Wiebe & Sons Ltd. (Ben and Betty Wiebe, Sheldon and Jennifer Wiebe of MacGregor). Each received a plaque and a $1,000 cheque for their accomplishment.

About the author

Mccain Foods Release's recent articles



Stories from our other publications