Manitoba students win Leaders of Tomorrow scholarships

The awards come from an endowment fund the province established last year

Four Manitoba students who are current or former 4-H members have received a total of $42,500 in scholarships through the club’s Leaders of Tomorrow plan.

“4-H members of today are tomorrow’s future leaders,” said Candace Tolton, president of 4-H Manitoba, in a news release.

“We are proud to support our members to enable them to take a future leadership role in agriculture, environmental sustainability and their community as a whole,” she added.

Marika Dewar-Norosky of Newdale, Cameron Giannotti of Neepawa, Sarah Johnson of Dugald, and Rayna Topham of Minnedosa received the scholarships toward their post-secondary education.

Last November, the province announced it would place $1 million into an endowment fund which 4-H and the Brandon Area Community Foundation would use to establish a scholarship program, starting in 2021. This became the Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship.

“I would like to congratulate the scholarship recipients and wish them the best in all their future endeavours. Agriculture is a challenging and rewarding pursuit, and the 4-H program does a wonderful job of preparing the youth of today for whatever the future has in store for them,” said Minister of Agriculture and Resource Development Ralph Eichler in the news release.

About the author



Stories from our other publications