School of Agriculture sees large graduate class

The University of Manitoba’s diploma program saw 75 graduate this spring

The University of Manitoba’s School of Agriculture has graduated its largest class in more than 30 years.

Seventy-five students received their Diplomas in Agriculture at the 2017 convocation of the School of Agriculture held May 5, at the University of Manitoba. This is the largest graduating class since 1986.

Brian Archibald of Killarney received the Governor General’s Bronze Medal, an award given to the graduate with the highest academic standing in the two-year diploma program in agriculture. Archibald was also the recipient of the President’s Medal, given annually to a student who combines scholarship with outstanding qualities of leadership.

Diplomas with Distinction, awarded to students who obtain a grade point average of 3.75 or better out of a possible 4.5, were presented to Brian Archibald, Simon Cutler (Arborg), Ricardo Enguita (Zaragoza, Spain), Michelle Falk (New Bothwell), Joel Friesen (Mitchell), Celeste Giesbrecht (Miami), Renate Jochum (St. Francois Xavier), Lauryn Keen (Manitou), Ashley Kiansky (Vita), Jennifer Mueller (Arnaud), Blair Reid (Lorette), Dawson Sawatzky (MacGregor), Bailey Sigvaldason (Arborg), and Philip Therrien (La Broquerie).

The faculty of agricultural and food sciences annually awards Certificates of Merit to those who have made significant contributions to the agri-food industry. This year’s recipients include organic researcher and educator Martin Entz and former deputy premier Jim Downey.

The Teacher of the Year Award was presented to Don Flaten in recognition of teaching excellence and contribution to the students’ program of study. This award is selected by the graduating class of diploma students.

Jim Downey and Martin Entz were Certificate of Merit recipients at the recent graduation ceremony of the University of Manitoba’s School of Agriculture. Michele Rogalsky, (l-r) director, School of Agriculture, Jim Downey, Certificate of Merit recipient, Dr. Janice Ristock, provost and VP academic, U of M, Dr. Martin Entz, Certificate of Merit recipient and Dr. Karin Wittenberg, dean, faculty of agricultural and food sciences.
photo: University of Manitoba

About the author



Stories from our other publications