Your Reading List

Three acclaimed to MWBGA board

There will be two new faces around the Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association (MWBGA) board table.

MWBGA completed its election process through this fall and early winter and Boris Michaleski of Ashville and Rauri Qually of Dacotah join returning director and current chair Fred Greig of Reston. The three farmers were acclaimed.

Michaleski and his wife, Karen, grow soybeans, canola, wheat, barley and ryegrass southwest of Dauphin.

“Being involved in agricultural and community organizations is vital in order to make positive changes for a strong and healthy industry and community,” said Michaleski.

He added he hopes to work towards making wheat and barley an increasingly profitable cropping choice.

Rauri Qually works on his family’s grain farm, an operation he is in the process of taking over. Qually looks forward to listening, learning and voicing the questions and concerns of the farmers he represents.

Greig remains committed to serving and representing Manitoba growers, ensuring the association’s efforts remain focused on delivering value to spring wheat and barley farmers.

“Helping to direct research where it will be of most benefit to producers continues to be a priority for me,” Greig said.

The three directors’ four-year terms will start following the MWBGA annual general meeting, to be held Thursday, Feb. 15 at the 2018 CropConnect Conference.

The three will join the four existing directors Robert Misko (Roblin), Drew Baker (Beausejour), Dean Harder (Lowe Farm) and Cale Jefferies (Glenboro).

About the author



Stories from our other publications