Diploma in Agriculture students celebrate with virtual convocation

Pandemic realities prevented the usual acknowledgement of this achievement for students

Don Flaten toasts the graduating class in this photo, tweeted by the U of M Aggies account.

Sixty-four students received their diplomas in agriculture during the University of Manitoba online convocation ceremonies held June 29.

Pete Giesbrecht from Winkler received the Governor General’s Bronze Medal, an award given to the graduate with the highest academic standing in the two-year Diploma Program in Agriculture.

Noah de Rocquigny from St. Claude was the recipient of the President’s Medal, given annually to a student who combines scholarship with outstanding qualities of leadership.

Shawn Williment gives the valedictorian’s address in this photo, tweeted by the U of M Aggies account. photo: Twitter/@UM_FASO

Diplomas with Distinction, awarded to students who obtain a Grade Point Average of 3.75 or better out of a possible 4.5, were presented to Acey Brinkman of Gilbert Plains, Noah de Rocquigny, Jonathan Friesen of Rosenort, Drew Gerbrandt of La Salle, Pete Giesbrecht, Jared Hulme of MacGregor, Reese Jones of Brookdale, Travis Klassen from Winkler, David Koster from Carman, Jill Martens of Boissevain, Nolan McGuire of Winkler, Stefan Moors of Sanford, Rachel Neumann from Emerson, Benjamin Pearson of Minnedosa, Austin Ricard of Baldur, Greg Sanders from Manitou, Eric Schnieder of Carberry and Shawn Williment of La Riviere.

The graduating class presented Don Flaten the Teacher of the Year Award in recognition of teaching excellence and contribution to the students’ program of study. Flaten taught in the Department of Soil Science.

About the author



Stories from our other publications