Your Reading List

4-H Reports – for Nov. 6, 2008

The Co-operator will publish 4-H reports once a month. Club reports can be submitted by the third week of the month by e-mail to [email protected],by regular mail to 4-H Reports, c/o Manitoba Co-operator, 1666 Dublin Ave., Winnipeg, Man. R3H 0H1 or by fax to 204-954-1422.

4-H Month in Manitoba

Agriculture Minister Rosann Wowchuk on Oct. 23 proclaimed November as 4-H Month in Manitoba. A number of special events are planned including:

participation in the national Show Your 4-H Colours campaign, in which Manitoba’s clubs were to wear green to promote 4-H in their communities on Nov. 5;

the annual Provincial Leaders’ Conference on Nov. 15 at Portage la Prairie, at which 120 4-H volunteer leaders are expected to meet to build their mentorship skills; and

the National Skills and Thrills Conference in Brandon from Nov. 28 to 30, which focuses on building employment skills for 70 4-H members, including about 50 from Manitoba.

According to the province, there are currently over 3,500 4-H members in Manitoba, about 85 per cent of whom live in rural areas or on farms. More information about 4-H is available from Manitoba Agriculture, Food and Rural Initiatives’ GO offices.

Wowchuk, whose portfolio also includes rural initiatives, on Oct. 23 also announced the first three recipients of the province’s Rural Initiatives Scholarships, worth a total of $8,500. The Rural Development Masters Degree scholarship, worth $4,000, goes to Janielle Brooks-Smith. The Graduate Assistantship in Rural Development, worth $2,500, is awarded to Sean Irwin. And the Undergraduate Scholar ship in Rural and Community Studies, worth $2,000, goes to William Irwin.

Rural Initiatives Scholarships will continue to be awarded at Brandon University in future years, Wowchuk said. The scholarships were created with a $250,000 provincial contribution to the university’s endowment fund in 2007.

HappyRock Horseshoes (Gladstone)

The newly formed Gladstone 4-H horse club met Oct. 10 at the Elks Hall. Names for the club were put forward and voted on. “HappyRock Horseshoes” was chosen.

Ken Lewis is our head leader and Heather Davey and Joanne Doell are our project leaders. Club election results are as follows: president, Hailey Tonn; vice-president, Brianne Neudorf ; secretary, Jamie Anderson; treasurer, Karleigh Lewis; and club reporter, Kara Ferguson.

It was decided that we would hold our meetings on the second Friday of each month at 7:30 p. m.

– Kara Ferguson



Stories from our other publications