Your Reading List

New National 4-H Leaders Elected

The Canadian 4-H Council elected Judy Shaw president at its recent annual meeting in Prince Edward Island. Shaw was elected by her fellow board members for a two-year term, and replaces previous president, Robert McAuley.

Shaw has been involved in 4-H since 1996 when she became the member representative of Syngenta Canada for the Canadian 4-H Council. She has served in a variety of roles, including as a member of the public relations committee, and as a director for the Canadian 4-H Council.

The Canadian 4-H Council was established in 1933 to coordinate all national 4-H affairs. In addition to public relations and marketing, the council offers national programming to 4-H members across Canada, giving them an opportunity to “Learn to do by Doing” through various conferences, exchanges and travel opportunities.

The council board of directors is comprised of president Judy Shaw (Syngenta Canada), vice-president Rob Black (individual member), Canadian 4-H Foundation president Lyndon Carlson (Farm Credit Canada), Shirley Johnson (individual member), Johanne Métayer (AAFC departmental liaison), Bob McAuley (BASF Canada), Marie Logan (individual member), Valerie Pearson (Saskatchewan 4-H Council), Linda Porter (New Brunswick 4-H), and Rod Whitfield (RBC Royal Bank).

At the same meeting, Lyndon Carlson was elected president of the Canadian 4-H Foundation at the foundation’s annual general meeting. Carlson was elected by his fellow trustees for a two-year term, and replaces outgoing president Dori Gingera-Beauchemin.

Carlson is senior vice-president of marketing at Farm Credit Canada, responsible for the brand, product development, pricing, insurance, industry relations, FCC learning programs and publications, and FCC management software.

As the primary fundraising arm for the Canadian 4-H Council, the foundation is responsible for the funds to support the continuation of national 4-H programs.

The foundation solicits and receives donations from a wide variety of sources and invests all the funds under the direction of a volunteer board of trustees and a financial adviser.

The foundation board of trustees consists of vice-president David Hovell (Nova Scotia), Dor i Gingera-Beauchemin (Manitoba), Morley Handford (Alberta), Ross Husdon (British Columbia), and Claude Lalonde (Ontario).

About the author

Canadian 4-h Council Release's recent articles



Stories from our other publications