Your Reading List

4-H reports

Memo to 4-H club reporters: Be sure to email your reports to us at [email protected] or fax to the Co-operator (att’n: Dave) at 204-954-1422.

Rapid City Beef

The club had its reorganization meeting on Nov. 10 and elected a new council. Wyatt Inglis is president; Thijs VandeLangemheen, vice-president; Brooklyn Hedley, secretary; James Reid, treasurer; and Anja VandeLangemeen, reporter. Other members include Drew Horner, Gavin Reid, Mona VandeLangemheen and Sierra Inglis. We welcome new members Justin McKee and Zane Finlay.

Related Articles

This year the club will be using new workbooks for the projects, and the members are all excited for the change. The club has decided to hold its first weigh day on Dec. 5, so we are hoping for nice weather. The weigh day will be followed by a potluck lunch and the December monthly meeting at the same time. — Anja VandeLangemheen

Happy Rock Horseshoes

The club held its first meeting Nov. 3 at the Westbourne Longburn Community Centre with 12 members present. We welcomed two new members. Our head leaders are Terri Hall and Stephanie George.

We elected our new officers, including Jodie Davis, president; Cassidy George, vice-president; Megan Hall, secretary; Kaitlyn Davey, treasurer; J’lyn Funk, banner scanner; and Madison Teichroeb, reporter.

We reviewed the 4-H Code of Conduct and went over the expectations for each member. Terri Hall showed us the new 4-H logo! The 4-H clover now has a maple leaf in the centre.

After the formal meeting, we played a few games. In the first game our small groups were challenged to make the tallest tower with uncooked spaghetti noodles, marshmallows and painter’s tape. In the second game, we had to use our feet to get as many marbles as possible out of a bin of soybeans in one minute. The games were a lot of fun and also taught us teamwork and concentration.

Our Christmas party will be held Dec. 12 at 2 p.m. After a meeting and some time for bookwork, we will have some games and a potluck supper.

I am excited for the new 4-H year! I’m sure everyone else is too! — Madison Teichroeb

Safety, leadership funding

4-H Canada is set to launch a new youth leadership program, along with a farm safety fund, thanks to a $600,000 contribution from Canadian National Railway (CN).

Executives at 4-H and CN unveiled the 4-H Canada Leadership Excellence Awards of Distinction (LEAD) at Canadian Western Agribition on Nov. 25.

Each year LEAD will award four 4-H members with a four-year scholarship toward their post-secondary education. The scholarships total $5,000 per recipient per year.

The award benefits 4-H’ers in four thematic areas: community engagement and communications, the environment and healthy living, science and technology, and sustainable agriculture and food safety.

The first LEAD recipients have already been chosen, including Austin Pizzey of Manitoba, Cameron Choquette of Saskatchewan, Meghan McGillivray of British Columbia and Louise Pickard of New Brunswick.

CN’s contribution is also launching a farm safety fund. 4-H Canada CEO Shannon Benner said the fund would allow 4-H clubs to start farm safety initiatives at the grassroots.

Sean Finn, executive vice-president of corporate services and chief legal officer at CN, said that rail safety and farm safety is something that’s close to their hearts.

When one looks at farm fatality numbers, it’s clear “we’ve got some work to do,” he added.

Finn said the railway wants to work with 4-H to develop future leaders and promote a safe environment on farms as well as railways. — Lisa Guenther

About the author

Manitoba Co-operator Staff's recent articles



Stories from our other publications