Your Reading List

FCC Honours Farm Women

Farm Credit Canada (FCC) is seeking nominations for the 2010 FCC Rosemary Davis Award, which honours Canadian women for their leadership and commitment to agriculture.

FCC is looking for five women who deserve recognition for their achievements in the agriculture industry. They can be agriculture producers, agribusiness operators, agrologists, teachers, veterinarians, researchers, community builders, journalists, visionaries, volunteers or have another valuable connection to agriculture.

“Many very capable women in Canada have made strong contributions to the agriculture industry,” says Kellie Garrett, senior vice-president, Strategy, Knowledge and Reputation at FCC. “With this award, FCC wants to recognize these dedicated women who are proactively promoting agriculture each and every day.”

Over the past three years, FCC has honoured 15 wonderful women. Individuals are encouraged to take the time to recognize a woman they see making a difference in the agriculture industry. Self-nominations are also encouraged.

Candidates are selected based on their demonstration of leadership, giving back to their community and Canadian agriculture, their display of passion for agriculture and their vision for the future of the industry.

The FCC Rosemary Davis award was created and named after a successful Canadian agribusiness owner and operator and the first female chair of the FCC board of directors. “We recognize that more and more women are choosing to make a career in agriculture and that’s great news for the future of the industry,” says Garrett.

The winners will be announced in spring 2010. They will receive an all-expense paid trip to attend the 2010 Simmons School of Management leadership conference in Boston on April 30.

“The conference provides winners with a unique opportunity to network and hear some of the world’s most accomplished women talk about their own experiences on their journeys to success,” says Garrett.

FCC Rosemary Davis winners must be 21 years of age and actively involved in Canadian agriculture. Entries will only be received online at: deadline to apply is midnight January 18, 2010. Previous nominees who did not win in the last three years can reapply. For more information call 1-888-332-3301 or email prixrosemar [email protected]

About the author

Farm Credit Canada Release's recent articles



Stories from our other publications