Your Reading List

Selkirk hosts high school rodeo finals

Daily competition just one aspect of weekend

Clay Bergeson of Onanole won the steer-wrestling event.  PHOTO: DARRELL NESBITT

Six senior high school students from western Manitoba and just over the Saskatchewan border involved in the Manitoba High School Rodeo Association, were named event winners at the provincial finals held in Selkirk in June. Daily competition is solely one aspect of the weekend, as families come together for prom and awards, as well.

In the girls’ field, Cassidy Gardner of Virden won breakaway roping, while Gage Fouillard of St. Lazare won cutting and Shannon Jackson of Inglis topped the cowgirls competing in goat tying.

Logan Bridgeman of Rivers was the top tie-down roper, Clay Bergeson of Onanole won the steer-wrestling event and Mason Helmeczi of Esterhazy, Sask. topped the field in bareback.

Other provincial senior high event winners were: Baylee Graham, Carberry — barrel racing; Keenan McMahon, Inwood – bull riding; Tyson Salmon, Stonewall – bull riding (B calibre); Hallie McCannell, Carievale, Sask. — pole bending; Devon Fox, Eddystone — saddle bronc; Clay Allan, Balmoral (header), Austin Whelpton, Neepawa (heeler) — team roping.

Joe Lane of Strathclair won the junior high bareback and saddle bronc events (aboard a steer versus a horse).

Souris’s Jenel Boyes was the winner of junior high barrel racing, girls’ breakaway roping, pole bending, ribbon roping (roper) and team roping (header).

Manitoba junior high students were eligible to travel to the 10th annual World’s Largest Junior High Finals Rodeo in Des Moines, Iowa in June while the senior Manitoba team went to Rock Springs, Wyoming this month to compete at the 66th annual National School Finals Rodeo, which will feature more than 1,500 contestants from 42 states, five Canadian provinces, and Australia.

In addition to competing for more than $200,000 in prizes, NHSFR contestants will also be competing for more than $350,000 in college scholarships and the chance to be named an NHSFR National Champion.

About the author



Stories from our other publications