Your Reading List

Much Talent At MHSRA Finals

The Manitoba High School Rodeo Association showcased athletic talents at the provincial finals last month in Hamiota.

Rough stock champions were Landon Lockhart, Brandon – bull riding; Orin Larsen, Inglis – bareback; and Kane Larsen, Inglis – saddle bronc. Tanner Rutten of Redvers, Sask. who rodeos on Manitoba soil was the champion in tie-down roping and along with his heading partner, Christopher Rinn of Langruth, won in team roping. The finals steer-wrestling champion was Clinton Kelly of Brandon.

Hometown cowgirl, Shanisse Medd topped the field in goat tying, while Ali Mullin of Cartwright was top barrel racer. Katelynn Baker of Newdale was the pole-bending champion and Neepawa’s Erin Cathcart received the championship title in break-away roping. The cutting champion was Kayleigh Lavich of Brookdale.

In the Wrangler Junior division based on points garnered at Onanole in May, Alex Park of Hamiota claimed the finals championship in barrel racing. Heidi Smith of Oak Lake claimed a pair of championships in pole bending and with partner Cody Colon of Virden in ribbon roping, as did Tess Manning of Belmont.

Virden’s Kelby Lyng was the top junior cowboy in breakaway roping, and Mark Cook of Binscarth in goat tying, Tyrel McLeod of Brandon in chute doggin’ and eight-second cowboy Bailey Plaiser of Oak Lake as champion in Wrangler steer riding.

Orin Larsen and Justine Cornelsen were named All Around Cowboy and Cowgirl respectively.

Rookie senior awards went to Jerri-Lynn Marshall of Rapid City and Layne Smith of Oak Lake. Derek McMillan of Rapid City and Heidi Nugent of Neepawa were named Hard Luck Cowboy and Cowgirl. As voted by members, Cowgirl and Cowboy of the Year were Sharra Sage of Brandon and Kassidy Bridgeman of Binscarth respectively.

Mark Cook and Heidi Smith were named Wrangler High Point Cowboy and Cowgirl.

Bailey Plaiser and Smith were voted MHSRA Wrangler Cowboy/ Cowgirl of the Year. Logan Bridgeman of Rivers was year-end winner of boy’s breakaway roping, while Cody Colon was the winner in ribbon roping.

– Darrell Nesbitt of Shoal Lake is the media representative of the MHSRA.

About the author



Stories from our other publications